Conditions of repayment

In the cluster headache, for patients who meet the diagnostic criteria of the IHS and on the basis of a report from a physician specialising in neurology or neuropsychiatry.

  1. On the basis of a report from the general practitioner attesting that these conditions have been met, reimbursement may be granted up to a maximum of 7 packagings for a maximum period of one month.

  2. This reimbursement authorisation may be renewed for each subsequent algic cluster serie on the basis of a reasoned request from the attending physician, up to a maximum of 7 packages for a maximum period of one month. Reimbursement is granted provided that a minimum period of 6 months has elapsed since the end of the reimbursement of the previous cluster treatment.
  3. If the treatment of an algic cluster serie is necessary for a period exceeding one month, the renewal of the authorisation shall be requested for a maximum of three consecutive months by the neurologist or neuropsychiatry specialist up to a maximum of seven packages per month.
    If the neurologist or neuropsychiatry specialist is convinced that, for certain patients, it is indicated and without risk to reimburse more than 7 packages per month, he must explicitly request this in a detailed medical report. This is possible for a maximum period of 3 consecutive months and up to a maximum of 30 packages per month, each time on the basis of a new detailed medical report.

Source : INAMI (french)

Documents concerning the reimbursement :

  1. Application for reimbursement

    To be filled in by a specialist in neurology or neuropsychiatry and sent (without delay) to your mutual insurance company.

  2. The reimbursement authorization document

    This document is sent to you by your Mutual following the above reimbursement request.
    Attention !  the delay can be enormous: several weeks, even more than a month. !!!

    Give this document to your pharmacist for reimbursement.
    (Don't hesitate to ask your pharmacist to keep your prescriptions on hold for as long as you need to obtain the form from the Mutual)

    Sample of the authorization document of the Partenamut mutual company for 7 packages
    reimbursement authorization 1reimbursement authorization 2

English

Les conditions de remboursement

Dans l’algie vasculaire de la face (céphalée en grappe - cluster headache) chez les patients remplissant les critères de diagnostique IHS d’algie vasculaire de la face sur base d’un rapport du médecin spécialiste en neurologie ou neuropsychiatrie.

  1. Sur base d’un rapport du médecin traitant attestant que ces conditions sont remplies, le remboursement peut être accordé à concurrence de 7 conditionnements maximum pour une période d’un mois maximum.

  2. Cette autorisation de remboursement peut être renouvelée pour chaque grappe (cluster) algique ultérieure, sur base d’une demande motivée du médecin traitant, à concurrence chaque fois de 7 conditionnements maximum pour une période d’un mois maximum. Le remboursement est accordé pour autant qu’une période de minimum 6 mois se soit écoulée depuis la fin du remboursement du traitement de la grappe précédente.
  3. Si le traitement d’une grappe (cluster) algique s’avère nécessaire pendant une durée excédant un mois, le renouvellement de l’autorisation est demandé pour une période maximale de 3 mois consécutifs par le médecin spécialiste en neurologie ou neuropsychiatrie à concurrence chaque fois de 7 conditionnements maximum par mois.
    Si le médecin spécialiste en neurologie ou neuropsychiatrie est convaincu que, pour certains patients, il est indiqué et sans risque de rembourser plus de 7 conditionnements par mois, il doit en faire explicitement la demande dans un rapport médical détaillé. Ceci est possible pour une période maximale de 3 mois consécutifs à concurrence de 30 conditionnements maximum par mois, chaque fois sur base d’un nouveau rapport médical détaillé.

Source : INAMI

Les documents concernant le remboursement :

  1. La demande de remboursement

    A faire remplir par le médecin spécialiste en neurologie ou neuropsychiatrie et à renvoyer (sans tarder) à votre mutuelle :

  2. Le document d'autorisation de remboursement

    Ce document vous est envoyé par votre mutuelle à la suite de la demande de remboursement ci-dessus.
    Attention ! le délais peut être énorme : plusieurs semaines, voir plus d'un mois !!!

    Remettez ce document à votre pharmacien pour remboursement.
    (N'hésitez pas à demander à votre pharmacien de conserver vos ordonnances en attente, le temps nécessaire à l'obtention du formulaire de la mutuelle)

    Spécimen du document d'autorisation de la mutuelle Partenamut pour 7 conditionnements
    Autorisation de remboursement 1Autorisation de remboursement 1

Français